Loading articles...

Mikael Backlund nominated for King Clancy Memorial Trophy

Calgary's Mikael Backlund celebrates scoring his first-period goal during the Flames' 6-0 win against the Anaheim Ducks on Thursday. (Chris Carlson/The Associated Press)

The NHL announced the 31 team nominees for the 2020-21 King Clancy Memorial Trophy on Tuesday.

The trophy is awarded annually “to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community” and the nominees were selected by their respective NHL teams.

The nominees of the seven Canadian teams are: Mikael Backlund, Kyle Turris, Jonathan Drouin, Thomas Chabot, John Tavares, Tyler Motte and Blake Wheeler.

A committee of senior NHL executives led by commissioner Gary Bettman and deputy commissioner Bill Daly will use the below criteria to select the three finalists and eventual winner.

• Clear and measurable positive impact on the community
• Investment of time and resources
• Commitment to a particular cause or community
• Commitment to the League’s community initiatives
• Creativity of programming
• Use of influence; engagement of others

The winner of the King Clancy Memorial Trophy will receive a $25,000 donation to a charity of his choice while the runners-up each will receive a $5,000 donation.

Backlund is well-known for his philanthropic efforts in Calgary, involved in the Special Olympics, ALS Society of Alberta, Kids Cancer Care and Parachutes for Pets.