Loading articles...

Prime minister appoints former Nunavut premier as territory's new commissioner

Last Updated Jan 12, 2021 at 12:26 pm MST

Former Nunavut Premier Eva Aariak has been appointed by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau as the new commissioner to the territory. (CREDIT: Canadian Press/HO)

IQALUIT, Nunavut — Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has appointed a former Nunavut premier as the territory’s next commissioner.

Eva Aariak, who served as Nunavut’s second premier from 2008 to 2013, will take over the job from Nellie Kusugak, whose five-year term expired in June.

A commissioner of Nunavut is similar to a province’s lieutenant-governor.

Territorial commissioners give royal assent to bills passed by the legislative assembly and swear in newly elected members.

Trudeau describes Aariak as a lifelong champion for Nunavut, and its Inuit languages and culture.

Aariak, who served as the territory’s first languages commissioner, was made a member of the Order of Canada in 2018 for her work to protect Inuit languages.

This report by The Canadian Press was first published Jan. 12, 2021.

The Canadian Press