Loading articles...

West Division all-star honours for six Stampeders

Last Updated Nov 6, 2019 at 12:34 pm MDT

Calgary Stampeders receiver Reggie Begelton (84) fights off a pair of Edmonton Eskimos defenders (The Canadian Press).

CALGARY (660 NEWS) — A half-dozen Calgary Stampeders have been named to the CFL’s 2019 West Division all-star squad.

Earning the honour are receivers Reggie Begelton and Eric Rogers, offensive tackle Derek Dennis, offensive guard Shane Bergman, cornerback Tre Roberson and halfback Dashaun Amos.

Begelton, Bergman, Roberson and Amos are all first-time selections, while this marks Rogers’ second time and a third for Dennis.

Begelton is also the club’s nomination for the league’s Most Outstanding Player after becoming just the fifth player in team history to record at least 100 catches in a season.

READ MORE: Begelton, Roberson among team nominees for CFL’s outstanding player awards

On Wednesday, the Stampeders named defensive back Brandon Smith their recipient of the team’s Presidents’ Ring. It’s voted on by the players, and candidates are judged on their in-game contributions, leadership, inspiration and motivational skills, both on and off the field.

“It’s an honour to be voted as the winner of this award by my teammates and peers, especially in the final year of my career,” Smith explained. “This award means a lot and will give me a good memory of all my years of being a Stampeder. I thank the coaching staff and my teammates for giving me the opportunity to lead by example.”

Smith has decided to retire at the end of the 2019 campaign. He’s suited up in 174 regular-season games for Calgary — 14th on the franchise’s all-time list.

Calgary welcomes the Winnipeg Blue Bombers Sunday at 2:30 p.m. for the West Division semifinal at McMahon Stadium.